Sweet Potato Waffles with Crunchy Nut Topping

I hope everyone had a very Merry Christmas! Santa was very good to our house this year. I have a son who also turned 3 on Christmas, so our house is definitely on present overload! I didn’t ask for much this year but, of course, had to put a list together of things I’d like Santa to put under the tree next to my son & husbands’ presents. Most of what I asked for was kitchen tools. What else would I ask for… right? I was lucky enough to get most everything that was on my list and can’t wait to test them all out but the first to get ‘played’ with was a waffle iron. Now, I know you are thinking, a waffle iron? Yes, I am married. Yes, most people dread the waffle iron wedding present. I, however, have been  jealously longing for all those waffle irons idly sitting in the other wives’ pantries or attics collecting dust. I’ve actually been bookmarking waffle recipes on my computer for years waiting for the day when I could try some of them out.

I recently downloaded Google chrome. What does this have to do with the waffle maker you ask? I LOVE the bookmark manager for Google chrome! I have enough recipe bookmarks to last me until my son moves out and then some, but with a few simple clicks I quickly searched the bookmarks and narrowed down the recipes for brunch this morning. And the winner was….. Sweet Potato waffles. I’m so glad I had bookmarked this one because it was a big hit in my house. My husband felt it was a little ‘rich’ with both the topping and a touch of maple syrup but I thought it was sublime. Hope you all enjoy!

Sweet Potato Waffles with Crunchy Nut Topping  from http://www.tasteofhome.com

  • 2 C. biscuit/baking mix
  • 2 Tbsp. brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. ground ginger
  • 1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg
  • 1 egg
  • 1-1/3 C. 2% milk
  • 1 C. mashed sweet potato (it calls for canned but I used some I had frozen a couple weeks ago and just defrosted them in the microwave)
  • 2 Tbsp. oil (I used vegetable)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • Topping (recipe follows)
  • Maple Syrup

In a large bowl, combine the biscuit mix, brown sugar and spices. In another bowl, combine the egg, milk, sweet potatoes, oil and vanilla. Stir into dry ingredients just until combined.

Bake in a preheated waffle iron according to manufacturer’s directions until golden.

Meanwhile, make topping.

Crunchy Nut Topping:

  • 1 Tbsp. butter
  • 1/2 C. chopped pecans
  • 1/2 C. chopped walnuts (I used all, 1 C., pecans)
  • 2 Tbsp. brown sugar
  • 1 Tbsp. water
  • 1/8 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • Dash Salt
  • Dash ground nutmeg

In a small skillet, melt butter over medium heat. Add nuts and stir for 2 minutes. Add the rest of the topping ingredients and stir until sugar is dissolved. Keep warm until waffles are ready. Serve with waffles and maple syrup.

Yield: 12 waffles

ENJOY!!

This post is linked up to Make Ahead Meals – Melt In Your Mouth Monday Blog Hop #46

Leave a Reply

